Original Dog Art Picture Pendant

I just made my first piece of jewelry! It’s a very special and personal piece. This glass cabochon pendant contains my original artwork of my late dog Juno. I’m very proud of it! These are the steps I took to create it:

I used this photo I took of him standing in our driveway for reference…

I did a sketch on a ACEO card…

I redrew it again by tracing the sketch on another ACEO card, inking it in with manga pens…

I redrew it a third time on another ACEO card; coloured it with plain old markers; inked in the eyes, nose, lips and cheek fluff to make it “pop” more. Then scanned it into the computer, re-sized it in Adobe Photoshop to fit within the bezel setting and printed it on heavy card stock.

I put Diamond Glaze on the glass dome cabochon, placed it on the art and let it dry for 15 min. I cut the excess paper, put some Crafter’s Pick glue on the back and set it in a Sterling Silver plated bezel setting, let it dry for an hour, strung it on a cord and it’s done! I think it may have taken about 5 or so hours or so to complete…

This was different and very fun! I’m thinking of making more drawing-pendant necklaces of dog breeds.

*You may wonder why I drew this 3 times, here’s why: 1) I don’t like to throw away my original pencil sketch. 2) The first ink drawing is a backup in case I mess up. 3) The second ink drawing would be the final piece to be coloured.

Categories: Jewelry, Pet Art, Pet Photography | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Original Dog Art Picture Pendant

  1. Reblogged this on Art-Z Jewelry and commented:
    This handcrafted pendant is close to my heart. It is an image of our beloved late pet, Juno drawn by my daughter (Sam Bros of https://shinrinart.wordpress.com and encased in glass as a pendant. When I look into it, I can actually Juno standing before me. It’s a wonderful and beautifully illustrated tribute to our late dog.

  2. What a fabulous memento of Juno, one I know you will treasure. You are such a multi-talented artist. Looking forward to seeing what other pendant you create.

What do you think?

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

