Overcoming Anxiety with Taiko Drumming?

I’m glad we made it to the Asian Festival yesterday even though I had a very sore throat and was very congested. I was able to get a table for my art at the very last minute, and most importantly,  I feel like I accomplished something!

I have this deep seated fear of being in front of a group of people.  It’s probably due to several negative experiences back in school… I really want to try to get over my shyness and fear.

So yesterday at the festival, Gerry and Hiroko (our teachers) from the Ryu Shu Kan dojo (where we take taiko drumming classes) had a taiko workshop. There were two drums left conveniently available! I love those drums and the atmosphere felt relaxed, so after a little hesitation, mom and I decided to participate.

I was nervous at first, but I just focused on my sensei’s instructions and hit the drum! To my surprise, I lost (at least temporarily) my fear and didn’t get scared of playing in front of people! Perhaps banging the drums relaxed me?

It always feels good playing taiko, even if I screw up!

Categories: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Overcoming Anxiety with Taiko Drumming?

  1. It was a lot of fun. I’m glad to decided to play!

  2. Congrats on pushing through your fear, Sam.! I too have social anxieties & I understand how hard what you did was. Good for you! Continued success in working past your fear.

  3. You’re welcome! I wish you the best!

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com.

