Etching Madness

Shinrin:

This came out great! Better than I expected. Definitely want to draw more of these…

Originally posted on Art-Z Jewelry:

Ever since I made my Tarot Inspired necklace, I have been consumed by a desire to etch images I love.  Lucky for me, I can draw but when I want a really fine line drawing, I call upon my talented daughter Sam.  She can create amazing illustrations using only fine lines right onto metal!!!

Sam drew this fabulous Chinese dragon onto a brass metal blank for me.

Sam's drawing with a Sharpie

Sam’s drawing with a Sharpie

IMG_8067IMG_8069I then etched the bracelet with Ferric Chloride

etched bracelet

etched bracelet

IMG_8084IMG_8085I love this!  I don’t think I can sell this one.  I have to get Sam to draw another.

My own drawing is not as clean and fine but I think it turned out OK in this necklace.

My own drawing etched on brass

My own drawing etched on brass

IMG_8092IMG_8099

This Phoenix rising out the ashes is an important symbol to me and I find myself wanting to create meaningful images more…

View original 32 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Etching Madness

  1. Thanks for the reblog. I couldn’t have made this bracelet without you <3

What do you think?

Blog at WordPress.com. The Adventure Journal Theme.

